What would you do to make your dreams come true?

Cinderella said that a dream is a wish your heart makes, when your fast asleep.  Yet, my dreams are now in my waking moments.  Those times when I see my baby hug Elmo and wish I could bottle that forever.  Other times when something fantastic happens, like getting to teach at a law school, and want to be able to relive that feeling over and over.

Mostly, dreams are the building blocks of our lives.  The items we work toward; the plans we make.  Our dreams can be simple, like a family, or our dreams can be complex, like making the education system better.  There are dreams that we share, like buying a home with our spouse; there are dreams that we never say out loud.  For me, writing was a dream that I was too afraid to tell anyone about for a long time.  Instead, I told people of my other dreams, dreams I thought were more achievable.

Recently, I realized that I was mistaken.  It is those dreams that seem impossible that we must share.  I cannot make my dreams a reality on my own.  Making the New York Times Bestsellers list doesn’t happen without whispering that you’ve written a novel.  So, I too a risk.  I started telling people about my dreams.  What about you?  What do you dream about?  What would you do to make your dreams a reality?

“To Dream the Impossible Dream.”  Man of La Mancha.

Leave a Reply

